City Winery Chicago Announces 2012 Lineup With Sam Moore, David Broza, Rosanne Cash, Shawn Colvin, Los Lobos, Mavis Staples, Lewis Black & More

View Comments
city_385

[pullquote quote="We realize time and money are precious commodities for many people, and have thus created a single destination to enjoy high-end cuisine and wine combined with high-end culture in a comfortable, sophisticated and unique setting. " credit="Michael Dorf, City Winery Founder & CEO"]City Winery Chicago, 1200 W. Randolph Street, the city’s newest concert venue and only fully operational winery, will present an eclectic mix of the most respected names in pop, jazz, blues and world music, when it opens its doors August 1, 2012. Among the initial headliners announced includes R&B legend Sam Moore of Sam & Dave fame (August 24-25); the jazz-bluegrass combo, David Grisman Sextet (Sept. 6-7); singer-songwriter Suzanne Vega (Sept. 8-9); Brazilian pop chanteuse Bebel Gilberto (Sept. 14-15); pop star Matthew Sweet (Sept. 20-21); the legendary Ian Hunter of Mott the Hoople fame (Sept. 28-29); jazz vocalist Kurt Elling (Oct. 21-22); singer-songwriter Shawn Colvin (Nov. 7-8); Israeli-flamenco superstar David Broza (Nov. 12); country-roots rock crooner Rosanne Cash (Nov. 18); gospel superstar Mavis Staples (Nov. 23-24); and in two special rockin’ New Years Eve performances, Los Lobos (Dec. 31). Timed for the political season, comedian and City Winery friend Lewis Black will officially “inaugurate” the room with a rare, intimate five-night engagement of “Running on Empty,” Wednesday – Sunday evenings, August 15-19.

Plus, City Winery Chicago is proud to announce two ongoing series combining the pleasures of music and wine. The weekly Sunday Klezmer Brunch joins musical performances by the best klezmer bands from around the city and around the world with a menu of schmears, scrambles and Nova Scotia salmon, and launches Sunday, August 19. Klezmer Brunches take place every Sunday from 11 a.m. – 2 p.m., with live and lively musical sets by the Chicago Klezmer Ensemble, Maxwell Street Klezmer Band, Jutta & the Hi Dukes, and others. Wine & music pairings celebrate a musical artist’s catalog, pairing live or recorded versions of their work with wine flights specially chosen to accompany the songs. This series launches Tuesday, August 28, with the Music of T Rex performed by the Waco Brothers and continues Monday, September 10 with the Music of the Rolling Stones performed by the Exiles on Randolph Street.

The City Winery Chicago concert venue will accommodate up to 300 guests, all seated at tables with complete beverage and dining service, ensuring a comfortable “listening room” experience enhanced by a state-of-the-art Meyer Sound system. Music, spoken word and comedy will be presented 20-25 nights per month.

Tickets for the following acts at City Winery Chicago are now on sale to VinoFile members, and go on sale to the public Monday, June 11 by phone at (312) 733-WINE (9463) or by visiting http://www.citywinery.com.

The show time for all concerts, except the Sunday Klezmer brunches, is 8 p.m., unless noted.

· Lewis Black, Running on Empty, with special guest John Bowman (comedy): Wednesday, Aug. 15; Thursday, Aug. 16; Friday, Aug. 17; Saturday, Aug. 18; and Sunday, Aug. 19 (Tickets: $80/65/50)

· Klezmer Brunch with Chicago Klezmer Ensemble, Sunday, Aug. 19 ($10)

· Jesse Harris (singer-songwriter): Wednesday, Aug. 22 ($10)

· Howie Day (singer-songwriter): Thursday, Aug. 23 ($25/22/20)

· Sam Moore (of Sam & Dave, R&B-soul): Friday, Aug. 24, and Saturday, Aug. 25 ($85/55/45)

· Klezmer Brunch with Maxwell Street Klezmer Band: Sunday, Aug. 26 ($10)

· Wine & music pairing: Music of T Rex performed by the Waco Brothers: Tuesday, Aug. 28 ($35 w/5 wine tasting; $15 ticket only)

· Gumbo & Cab Fest with the Lost Bayou Ramblers: Thursday, Aug. 30 ($10)

· An Evening with John Sebastian (of The Lovin’ Spoonful) & Jimmy Vivino (Max Weinberg 7): Friday, Aug. 31, and Saturday, Sept. 1 ($45/40/35)

· Klezmer Brunch with Tum Balalaika: Sunday, Sept. 2 ($10)

· Charlie Mars (singer-songwriter): Sunday, Sept. 2 ($22/20/18)

· An Evening with the David Grisman Sextet (jazz-bluegrass): Thursday, Sept. 6, and Friday, Sept. 7 ($50/45/40)

· Suzanne Vega (singer-songwriter) with special guest Musikanto: Saturday, Sept. 8, and Sunday, Sept. 9 ($50/45/40)

· Klezmer Brunch with Shakshuka: Sunday, Sept. 9 ($10)

· Wine & music pairing: Music of the Rolling Stones performed by the Exiles on Randolph Street: Monday, Sept. 10 ($25 w/5 wine tasting; $10 ticket only)

· An Evening with Southside Johnny & The Poor Fools (folk-rock): Thursday, Sept. 13 ($45/40/38)

· Bebel Gilberto (Brazilian pop) with special guest Paulinho Garcia: Friday, Sept. 14, and Saturday, Sept. 15 ($55/50/45)

· Klezmer Brunch with Chicago Klezmer Ensemble: Sunday, Sept. 16 ($10)

· Joan Osborne Duo – Residency (singer-songwriter): Sunday, Sept. 16, and Monday, Sept. 17 ($40/30/25) Joan Osborne calls City Winery Chicago her home Sept. 16 & 17 and Oct. 16 & 17

· Acoustic Strawbs (progressive-folk trio) & John Wesley Harding: Tuesday, Sept. 18 ($30/25/22)

· Matthew Sweet (pop): Thursday and Friday, Sept. 20 and 21 ($40/35/30)

· Patterson Hood (southern rock): Saturday and Sunday, Sept. 22 and 23 ($28/25/22)

· Klezmer Brunch with Jutta and Hi Dukes: Sunday, Sept. 23 ($10)

· Deolinda (Portuguese fado): Monday, Sept. 24 ($25/20/18)

· An Evening with Fanfare Ciocarlia (Romanian gypsy): Tuesday, Sept. 25 ($25/20/18)

· Ian Hunter (rock, of Mott the Hoople) with special guest, Nicholas Tremulis: Friday and Saturday, Sept. 28 and 29 ($55/45/40)

· Klezmer Brunch with Maxwell Street Klezmer Band quartet: Sunday, Sept. 30 ($10)

· Girlyman (three-part harmony folk-pop): Sunday, Sept. 30 ($30/25/22)

· An Evening with My Brightest Diamond (experimental): Saturday, Oct. 6 ($25/20/18)

· Shemekia Copeland (blues): Friday, Oct. 12 ($28/25/22)

· An Evening with Paula Cole (singer/songwriter): Saturday, Oct. 13 ($35/32/28)

· Battlefield Band (Scottish folk): Monday, Oct. 15 ($22/20/18)

· Joan Osborne Duo – Residency (singer-songwriter) Tuesday, Oct. 16, and Wednesday, Oct. 17 ($40/30/25)

· Mason Jennings (singer-songwriter) with special guest The Pines: Friday, Oct. 19, and Saturday, Oct. 20 ($35/35/22)

· Klezmer Brunch with Chicago Klezmer Ensemble: Sunday, Oct. 21

· An Evening with Kurt Elling (jazz vocalist): Monday, Oct. 22, and Tuesday, Oct. 23 ($45/40/35)

· Acoustic Africa (Dobet Gnahore, Manu Gallo of Zap Mama, and Kareyce Fotso) with Leni Stern : Wednesday, Oct. 24, and Thursday Oct. 25 ($35/32/28)

· Glen Phillips (singer-songwriter, of Toad the Wet Sprocket) & Grant Lee Phillips (singer-songwriter, of Grant Lee Buffalo): Saturday, Oct. 27 ($35/30/28)

· Klezmer Brunch with Maxwell Street Klezmer Band quartet: Sunday, Oct. 28 ($10)

· Cheryl Wheeler (singer-songwriter): Sunday, Oct. 28 ($25/20/18)

· David Wax Museum (Mexo-Americana): Thursday, Nov. 1 ($22/20/18)

· Klezmer Brunch with Maxwell Street Klezmer Junior Orchestra: Sunday, Nov. 4 ($10)

· Shawn Colvin (singer-songwriter): Wednesday and Thursday, Nov. 7 and 8 ($50/45/40)

· Bettye LaVette (contemporary blues) with special guest Eilen Jewell: Friday, Nov. 9, and Saturday, Nov. 10 ($48/42/38)

· David Broza (Israeli-Flamenco): Monday, Nov. 12 ($35/30/25)

· Mary Black (Irish) with special guest Rosie O: Thursday, Nov. 15 ($55/45/40)

· Jorma Kaukonen (roots rock, of Hot Tuna and Jefferson Airplane), with special guest Steve Kimock: Friday, Nov. 16, and Saturday, Nov. 17 ($48/45/42)

· Klezmer Brunch with Chicago Klezmer Ensemble: Sunday, Nov. 18 ($10)

· An Evening with Rosanne Cash (country): Sunday, Nov. 18 ($68/58/48)

· Mavis Staples (gospel): Friday and Saturday, Nov. 23 and 24 ($75/58/48)

· Klezmer Brunch with Tum Balalaika: Sunday, Nov. 25 ($10)

· Klezmer Brunch with Ensemble M’Chaiya: Sunday, Dec. 2 ($10)

· Klezmer Brunch with Chicago Klezmer Ensemble: Sunday, Dec. 16 ($10)

· Klezmer Brunch with Maxwell Street Klezmer Band quartet: Sunday, Dec. 30 ($10)

· Los Lobos (Mexican folk- Rock & Roll): New Year’s Eve, Monday, Dec. 31, two shows: 7:30 pm & 11 pm. ($175/125/85)

More info at citywinery.com.


Find Out What We Just Played

Access XRT DJ Playlists

Win Exclusive VIP Experiences

Download FREE MP3s

Listen To Full Albums

Connect with XRT on Facebook

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 757 other followers