Red Hot Chili Peppers To Release Cover Album Of Hall Of Fame Inductees

Just like most bands, Red Hot Chili Peppers were inspired by other artists. Throughout their near 30 year history, the Peppers have been fairly vocal about their musical influences.

With the band’s recent induction into the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame, the foursome will take the opportunity to release an EP titled We Salute You, a six-track EP featuring 5 songs that have never been released in digital form. Each song pays homage to their heroes, who've also inducted into the Hall.

The digital-only EP contains covers of “A Teenager In Love” by Dion and the Belmonts, “Havana Affair” by the Ramone, “Search & Destroy” by Iggy & the Stooges, “I Get Around” by the Beach Boys, “Suffragette City” by David Bowie and “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere” by Neil Young. The digital download will be available May 1st at

The Peppers were induction into the Rock N Roll Hall of Fame is scheduled to be aired on HBO in early May.

2012 is shaping up to be a busy year for the band. In addition to their world tour now in progress, they’ve been announced as one of Lollapalooza’s headliners.

Chad Smith has been busy preparing his own drum app for the iPhone and Android while Flea has been paying close attention to the Los Angeles Lakers.

Find Out What We Just Played

Access XRT DJ Playlists

Win Exclusive VIP Experiences

Download FREE MP3s

Listen To Full Albums

Access Additional MP3’s on

Connect with XRT on Facebook

–Jay Tilles, CBS Local


One Comment

  1. They’re called the Ramones, not the Ramone.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From WXRT Podcasts
15 Of The Most Valuable Rock Records

Listen Live