Album Stream: Radiohead ‘The King Of Limbs’

thom 385 Album Stream: Radiohead The King Of Limbs

Thom Yorke (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

[photogallerylink id=56062 align=left]

The buzz all week has been the release of [lastfm]Radiohead[/lastfm]’s new album The King of Limbs. Earlier this morning they released a video to their first single from the album, “Lotus Flower.” We now have access to the full album with a very mellow, but familiar sound from [lastfm]Thom Yorke[/lastfm]. Is that good? Bad? You decide.

Listen to all eight album tracks below & find out how you can download, or purchase this first-ever Newspaper Album.

1. Bloom – The disc kicks off with Radiohead’s recipe for success: looped piano, sparse electronic percussion and a Thom Yorke off-mic mumble.

2. Morning Mr Magpie – Here comes the funk. Jazzy hi-hats and strangely floating baseline. Yorke sings, “You’ve stolen art, give it back.” Wonder if this will end up in a future car commercial?

3. Little By Little – Woa, creep factor! Maybe I’m off here, but this paranoid track has the most hooks yet but carries a definite stalker/seduction vibe.

4. Feral – Now here’s a cool beat of electronic cut-ups and more shuffly jazz drums.

5. Lotus Flower – The band released this track just hours before the album eary this morning [WATCH]. In keeping with the rest of the album, Yorke let’s his falsetto vocals fly over a dark sea of sparse bass, synth and electronic drums.

6. Codex – Crisp & clean piano open this melancholy ballad. Using muted trumpet coming in to counterpoint Yorke’s vocals, this one can transform your mood in a heartbeat. I don’t know about you, but i think this deserves more than a couple listens.

7. Give Up The Ghost – Echoing vocals and a acoustic guitar. What’s are they singing in the background? “Don’t hurt me” This surprisingly optimistic campfire lullaby makes it seem like everything is going to be okay.

8. Seperator – They guys close this one out with a gently percussive jam. Yorke sings “Wake me up” through this hypnotic, dream of a song. He also repeats “If you think this is over, then you’re wrong.”

Lasting just thirty-eight minutes, The King Of Limbs is one of Radiohead’s shortest discs. One thing’s for sure — it’s time for another listen.

What did you think of the album?

kol Album Stream: Radiohead The King Of Limbs

To order the album visit

The King of Limbs Newspaper Album:
* Two clear 10″ vinyl records in a purpose-built record sleeve.
* A compact disc.
* Many large sheets of artwork, 625 tiny pieces of artwork and a full-colour piece of oxo-degradeable plastic to hold it all together.
* The Newspaper Album comes with a digital download that is compatible with all good digital media players.
* The Newspaper Album will be shipped on Monday 9th May 2011 you can, however, enjoy the download on Saturday 19th February 2011.

The King of Limbs digital:
* MP3 version is a 320K constant bit rate file.
* WAV version is a full CD quality uncompressed digital audio file.

New Song, Video “Lotus Flower” & Early Download Of Radiohead’s New Album ‘King Of Limbs’

Radiohead Returns With New Album This Saturday!

Video: Radiohead’s 2010 Haiti Benefit Concert (Download)

Free Mp3 Download: “Nude (Holy F**k Remix)”

More Radiohead

More Music News


More From WXRT Podcasts
15 Of The Most Valuable Rock Records

Listen Live